Because You Don’t Want To Be Like Those Other Babies Having Babies

20 Aug


Let’s face it, it’s never too early to introduce your kids to contraception anymore, unless you do want to be a grandparent. Then by all means, allow them to help themselves. I remember when I was in my teens and I was curious about sex and and my mother couldn’t even fathom bringing up the subject. I am not sure if it was because of the awkwardness or our Catholic upbringing. (Ironically she was a teen mom)

At times I wished I had that type of relationship with my mother where we could talk about anything including sex. Nonetheless, I went on through life learning about sex on my own, school and friends. (That sounded bad saying I learned about sex on my own) I meant seeking the information for myself. I remember seeing news coverage on taking the course Sex Education out of schools because parents were enraged. I always crossed my fingers and hoped that this wouldn’t happen to my school, because how else would I learn about it?


I guess this kid found a way to learn about it by himself.

So many teens around me were getting pregnant. I remember reading local newspapers and how they always had these “alarming statistics” on how my school had such a high pregnancy rate. It was embarrassing. Almost six years later and history is repeating itself in my little town and it seems everywhere else.

Teens have sex in their faces everyday through media. Almost everything has to have sex to sell it. I would not even dream of buying a dress that didn’t scream “sex me” all over it! I’m only half serious here, butt sex really does sell. (See what I did there?)

My point is, don’t be afraid or ashamed about the “burden” of talking about contraception because it might just save you from leaving that “burden” of a topic onto them. ย Don’t wait until its too late!

Leave a Reply

