The Best Christmas Gift

27 Nov


Every year some new gadget comes out and everyone has it on their Christmas list. Whether it’s a new phone, tablet, laptop, the Sham Wow ๐Ÿ˜› etc… we get caught up in the next “best” thing that our children and selves need to have. I am not a fan of this. I remember every Christmas throughout high school and college my mother would buy me a new cell phone and I would always ask why. I would say, “Thank you, but mom I don’t need this.” I never understood the necessity of buying things that ironically aren’t necessary. Yes, I wanted clothes for Christmas, but I never wanted the most expensive name brands like Gucci, Prada, Louis Vuitton, and so on. I just wanted affordable clothes that I would wear until they fell apart.

So what is the best gift you can give someone this Christmas? It’s simple. A beautiful, life enriching, book. A book can take you to the most peaceful places or the most unreal places if you’d like. It helps your mind grow instead of just be. They say we are what we eat, but I say we are what we read. Some of my most vulnerable moments of questioning who I am as a person were answered through books. I thank my professors who introduced me to the books, “The Four Agreements, Soul of A Citizen and now, “The Book of Awakening.” I recommend them highly if you seek enlightenment, growth and purpose

May today be a day worth remembering!

2 Responses to “The Best Christmas Gift”

  1. Billy Bibbit November 27, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Totally agree! Everyone should get a book for Xmas!

    • ittybittybee November 27, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

      Exactly! I see way too many kids with a Nintendo DS in their hands than a book!

Leave a Reply

